Agility Robotics unveils Digit 5 and restates more than $300 million in milestone-contingent orders as of May 2026

Key facts
Date15 Sep 2026
RegionU.S. & Allies

The Salem company is asking buyers to treat cooperative safety and a 2027 availability window as the bridge from Digit 4’s named North American sites to fleet scale, while the order figure remains conditional.

IN BRIEF: On September 15, 2026, Agility Robotics unveiled Digit 5 and restated that, as of May 2026, it had more than $300 million in multi-year Digit 5 orders subject to contractual milestones, citing Digit 4 work at GXO, Schaeffler, Amazon, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada, including a 100,000-tote milestone at GXO’s Flowery Branch facility near Atlanta.

RECORD:
Date: September 15, 2026
Beat: Robot Deployment Ledger
Jurisdiction: United States (Salem, Oregon); named customer sites in North America; planned access in the European Union and the United Kingdom
Entity: Agility Robotics, Inc.
Instrument / cite: Company announcement unveiling Digit 5; multi-year orders subject to contractual milestones; company-reported OSHA industrial-safety field evaluation; ANSI/A3 TR R15.108; ISO 25785-1
Source type: Company press release
Confidence: Reported (company claim; order book milestone-contingent, not stated as recognized revenue)
Record ID: N/A

Source: Agility Robotics

Agility Robotics used a September 15, 2026 announcement from Salem, Oregon, to unveil Digit 5, which it calls its first humanoid engineered for cooperatively safe work at scale. The company says the robot can work near people without the physical barriers traditional automation requires. That claim is the commercial point of the release. Hours already logged, and orders not yet unconditional, are the evidence it offers.

Peggy Johnson, chief executive of Agility Robotics, said: “Digit 5 is removing a major barrier to scaling humanoid robots in industrial environments. We built it to the exact requirements our customers gave us after three years of Digit 4 working on their production floors. The market has responded with more than $300 million in multi-year orders and a growing pipeline of customers across manufacturing, warehousing and logistics. That’s value that compounds as Digit’s capabilities expand, backed by real demand.”

The release qualifies the figure the quote does not. As of May 2026, Agility had more than $300 million in multi-year customer orders for Digit 5, subject to satisfaction of certain contractual milestones, plus a sales pipeline across manufacturing, warehousing, and logistics. The September announcement restates a May book. It does not say the milestones have been met, name the contracting customer, or convert the figure into revenue. For an investor or an enterprise buyer, the number is a contingent commitment, not a delivered fleet.

The field record the company attaches to that book belongs to Digit 4. Agility says Digit has the longest tenure among humanoid robots actively working in industrial facilities, with nearly three years of continuous commercial deployment. Digit 4 has logged more than 65,000 hours across numerous customer sites in North America, including GXO, Schaeffler, Amazon, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. At GXO’s Flowery Branch facility near Atlanta, Digit 4 reached a cumulative 100,000-tote milestone, maintaining approximately 98 percent accuracy while on-task. The release does not assign the May order book to any of those four names.

Safety is the product distinction Agility is selling against that record. It says Digit became the first humanoid to pass an independent field evaluation on a customer production line for industrial safety standards administered by the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Digit 5 adds three layers on that milestone: safe human detection, using proprietary algorithms and multiple sensors to avoid people, stop, or assume a seated position; visual and auditory cues for motion intent; and an independent safety controller that triggers a response when a person is inside an unsafe distance. Agility says it is the first launch partner for NVIDIA’s Halos for Robotics platform, pairing its architecture with NVIDIA IGX Thor and Halos Core infrastructure.

Deepu Talla, vice president of robotics and edge AI at NVIDIA, said: “Safely operating around people and assets is what moves humanoid robots from pilots to industrial deployments at scale. Agility’s Digit 5 is building on more than 65,000 hours of real-world operation and pairing its new safety architecture developed on top of NVIDIA IGX Thor and Halos safety framework for Robotics to help humanoids collaborate safely in factories and warehouses.”

Agility also says it is a project leader and contributor to ANSI/A3 TR R15.108, the technical report under development for dynamically stable industrial mobile robots, including humanoids, in the United States and Canada, and a contributor to ISO 25785-1, which it describes as the first international safety standard for the humanoid category. Contribution is not adoption. Neither instrument is stated as in force.

Hardware changes are specific. A new leg design with proprietary cycloidal actuators is said to give Digit 5 40 percent more payload and repeated lifts of up to 50 lb. (22.7 kg), which Agility presents as coverage of single-person lift tasks in OSHA-regulated facilities. A 90-minute runtime battery charges in 9 minutes, for a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio against Digit 4’s 2:1, and more than 20 hours of productive work in a 24-hour day. The robot weighs 284 lb. (129 kg), stands 5 feet 11 inches (1.81 m), and reaches 7.2 feet (2.2 m), up from Digit 4’s 5.5 feet. Swappable grippers use ISO-standard mounting flanges.

Those upgrades are framed as the path off tote handling. Digit 4, the release says, has largely automated tote-based material handling. Digit 5 is described as able to expand, through Agility’s physical-AI training, across depalletizing, machine tending, kitting and sequencing, quality inspection, and palletizing, and to hand off to a site’s existing autonomous mobile robots, conveyors, and warehouse systems through Agility Arc. That workflow list is a plan, not a completed deployment. Arc is the fleet layer: uptime, throughput, and mean time between incidents, with connections to warehouse management, warehouse execution, and manufacturing execution systems. Sensory data is said to stay on the robot; health and diagnostics go to Arc under end-to-end encryption, mTLS, and TLS 1.2 or later, rooted to a private certificate authority, with encrypted storage at rest.

Assembly is at RoboFab, Agility’s 70,000-square-foot facility in Salem, Oregon, described as the first factory purpose-built to assemble humanoid robots at scale. At full capacity it is designed to produce up to 10,000 Digit robots a year and employ more than 500 people. The release does not state current output. Engineering testing, validation, and skills development sit in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. A Fremont, California facility opened in July 2026 is the hardware and physical-AI development hub.

Availability is dated and geographic. Early access is expected in the first half of 2027. General availability for manufacturing, warehouse, and distribution operators is expected by the end of 2027. For the first time, Agility plans commercial deployment outside North America, starting with the European Union and the United Kingdom. Digit 5 is expected to carry a CE mark and further regulatory marks for the EU, Great Britain, and Northern Ireland. The release also describes Churchill Capital Corp XI (Nasdaq: CCXI) as a blank check company formed to effect a business combination. It does not, in the product sections, tie the Digit 5 order book to that transaction.

WHY IT MATTERS: The buyer-relevant split is between a named Digit 4 operating record — GXO Flowery Branch at 100,000 totes and about 98 percent on-task accuracy, plus Schaeffler, Amazon, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada — and a Digit 5 order book restated from May 2026 as more than $300 million and still subject to contractual milestones. Cooperative safety, NVIDIA Halos, and a 2027 early-access window are the company’s account of how pilots become fleets. Until milestones clear and the expanded workflows run on a customer floor, the figure is demand claimed, not capacity proven

Everything on record: Agility Robotics
Narracomm · The Record

Agility Robotics

Everything Narracomm has filed on Agility Robotics.

Updated 6 Oct 2026 · Links open our coverage; primaries are cited there
Headline DateCoverage
Agility Robotics and FORT Robotics Sign MOU on Digit 5 Safety; Predecessors Past 65,000 Hours at Schaeffler, GXO, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada 1 Oct 2026 Read More →
Agility Robotics unveils Digit 5 and restates more than $300 million in milestone-contingent orders as of May 2026 15 Sep 2026 Read More →
GXO Logistics and Agility Robotics sign a multi-year RaaS agreement to deploy Digit humanoids at a SPANX facility 27 Jun 2024 Read More →
Last updated 3 Oct 2026 · Narracomm · The Record · every figure cites its primary above.
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x